Gumshoe Rules Available for Order

GR modern silouette zz2

My novel, Gumshoe Rules, is now is now available for order at Inkshares. They are running a Mystery & Thriller contest and if I can get enough people to order then it becomes a legit published book. It has long been my dream to write and publish and this seems like a fun way to do it. 

It's a noir detective story, set at the height of the Cold War. A disgraced WWII veteran-turned-private detective investigates the death of a German scientist, only to discover their paths crossed during the liberation of a sinister Nazi labor camp in 1945. The novel is written in a hardboiled style influenced by Raymond Chandler, with elements of Agatha Christie as well as more modern influences like Anthony Horowitz and Philip Kerr.

Inkshares has an interesting model where they let readers decide what books should be published. I know two authors, Tal Klein (The Punch Escrow) and Christopher Huang (A Gentleman's Murder) who have successfully published through Inkshares. 

Interactive Fiction fans may recognize Huang as the author of several excellent games including my personal favorite An Act of Murder, as well as games related to his book. I was inspired by his game to begin working on an IntroComp game called The Z-Machine Matter some years ago and that became the basis for my novel. 


A Gentleman's Murder

Gentlemans murder wide 2

Prolific Interactive Fiction author Chris Huang has published his debut novel "A Gentleman's Murder" published by Inkshares. This is a classic "golden age" detective story set in London in the 1920s, rich in atmosphere and colorful characters. Huang's writing style will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Martin Edwards and other classic English mystery writers. Huang brings a modern angle to this genre by dealing with complex issues like race, discrimination and the impact of PSTD on soldiers. 

Interactive fiction fans will recall that Huang was the author of the wonderful "An Act of Murder" as well as three shorter pieces in the Peterkins Investigates series. 

Huang has sold the TV rights to this book and hopefully this will lead to more Peterkins Investigates stories.


Death in Ice Valley

Icevalley

BBC Radio 4 in collaboration with NRK, the national radio of Norway, has launched a new podcast "Death in Ice Valley." It's a modern cold-case investigation of the mysterious 1970 death of a woman in a remote part of Norway known as Isdal, or ice valley. It's one of those strange cases, like the "Somerton Man," that gets more complex the more you dig in. How did she die? Why were the tags clipped from her clothing? Where was she from? Did she have a false identity? 

So far, two episodes have been produced. The production and writing are excellent. Clearly this team has been influenced by the well researched Serial show from NPR. While things start a bit slow, each episode ends with more unanswered questions. The story is told jointly by NRK investigative journalist Marit Higraff and documentary filmmaker Neil McCarthy in a style is reminiscent of the BBC's radio versions the Martin Beck Swedish police procedurals. Because the case is not quite fifty years old, there are interviews with witnesses who met or investigated the Isdal woman who are still alive today.

You can download the series from the BBC or wherever you get your podcasts. If you've listened to the show, let me know what you think of it by posting a comment below.


Mickey Spillane - 100 Years of Attitude

Last stand
March 9 marks Mickey Spillane's 100th anniversary. He was a helluva writer, but he rarely got the respect he deserved. His first published book "I, the Jury" was written in 3 weeks earning him an advance of $1000, the amount needed to buy land and build a house. Even though it's a short novel, clocking in at 160 pages or about 53,000 words, that's s fast pace for any writer.

Spillane's tough guy private detective Mike Hammer became the template for a blood-and-guts noir style that was immortalized on film, television and radio and begat dozens of imitators. Spillane paved the way for many private detective writers and helped legitimize the paperback original genre. 

Nonetheless, Spillane was scorned by the literary world who disliked his pulpy style and heavy-handed plots. But he had the last laugh, writing more than 30 novels that sold more than 200 million copies in his career, making him one of the bestselling authors in the 20th century. As he put it "peanuts outsell caviar." What critics sometimes missed in Spillane and other noir authors' works was the pacing that drew readers in and kept them reading chapter after chapter, book after book.

"Nobody reads a mystery to get to the middle. They read it to get to the end. If it's a letdown, they won't buy anymore. The first page sells that book. The last page sells your next book."
--Mickey Spillane

Ironically, Spillane's death in 2006 hasn't hurt his productivity. Max Allan Collins has gone on to co-write more than a dozen novels Mickey Spillane from unfinished manuscripts that Spillane left in his trust.

To commemorate Spillane's 100th anniversary, two new Spillane / Collins titles are being published for the first time ever: Killing Town, the lost first Mike Hammer novel, and  The Last Stand, the last novel Spillane completed just before his death. (Both are available for pre-order with delivery in April.)

We owe much to Max Allan Collins, Hard Case Crime and Titan Books for their work in publishing these works. 

Like Mickey Spillane? Hate the covers? Let me know in the comments below.


Books for Writers

Screen Shot 2018-03-09 at 5.25.33 PM
I'm a sucker for books on writing. Sometimes, I even read them. Stephen King's book "On Writing" is a classic. I also recommend just about anything by Lawrence Block, whether it's his noir fiction or essays on writing from his years as a columnist for Writer's Digest.

There's no shortage of books on writing, and probably every writer has their favorites. My writer buddy Tal Klein ("The Punch Escrow") recommended two books for me: "Save the Cat" by the late great Blake Snyder and Robert Mckee's "Story." While both focus on screenwriting, these books are also appropriate for genre fiction, games, radio plays etc. They're easy to read and have a mix of practical advice, technique and motivation. They also do a good job analyzing stories such as The Godfather, Chinatown and others. These books are also available on Audible, which is particularly helpful for those with a long commute and not enough time to read.

Snyder and McKee put heavy emphasis on a standard 3 act story structure with key moments along the way. They didn't invent this model, but they are probably the best at demonstrating in practical ways how to apply these ideas to develop a stronger story. 

While some might fear that following a "Hollywood formula" will ruin their creative endeavor, I found it very helpful to understand techniques that keep the story moving along. (Scenes that don't move the story along and don't have dramatic conflict need to be cut!) In my view, having a good structure helps more than it hurts, and learning how to raise the stakes and add dramatic tension is as important in a novel as it is in film.

Your mileage may vary, but after listening to these books on Audible, I was able to strengthen my work-in-progress novel considerably.  Now back to work!